Assembly Elections: 200 million Indians expected to vote today

Siliguri, India: An estimated 200 million people from four Indian states and one Union Territory are expected to cast their votes for Assembly Elections today, which is being seen as the biggest public votes to occur since the 2019 national General Elections. 

Citizens from the states of West Bengal, Assam, Kerala, Tamil Nadu, and Puducherry today are voting to elect candidates for 475 Assembly seats.

On May 2, the results for all four states and one Union territory will be announced.

Ground visuals show mask-clad voters in West Bengal constituencies gathering for thermal checks before they press the button to determine the state's political journey for the next 5 years. 

Bengal will vote for 31 seats for the third phase since being in the polls at the end of last month. As of 2 PM, Bengal has had 54% of its votes counted, reports Hindustan Times. 

With five more rounds of elections left, the state is a fierce battleground for the firebrand Mamata Banerjee-led Trinamool Congress and the Narendra Modi-led Bhartiya Janata Party who're both contesting for all the 31 constituencies in the state. 

In Assam, 40 seats are up for a grab as the state of 3.09 crores votes for the third and final time on Tuesday. Here, Congress is fighting to dethrone a strong BJP targeting a second term in the state. 

In Tamil Nadu, all the state's 234 seats will be up for the votes today in one-session voting, according to media reports. 

The ruling AIADMK is contesting for 191 constituencies, while the PMK is fighting for 23 and the remaining 20 goes to the BJP.

By 3:30 PM, Assam had 68% votes cast, according to the FirstPost. 

Similarly in the neighboring state Kerela, a one-time election is taking place for 140 Assembly seats. The ruling LDF government headed by Chief Minister Pinarayi Vijayan is targeting another term.

"This poll is going to create a sort of milestone in the political history of Kerala. People will express their dissatisfaction & reject both UDF & LDF alliances," incumbent Union Minister V Muraleedharan said while casting vote at the Kottaram booth in Kerela's Ulloor, ANI reported. 

Two other terms are led by the BJP and the UDF alliance of the Congress party. Approximately 47% of voters had turned out in Kerela until 2 PM. 

Union Territory of Puducherry, which is currently under the President's rule following the Congress-led government's fall earlier this year. 

Yet this election, the Congress party is contesting 14 of the 30 Assembly seats while ally DMK if fighting for the 13. Nine seats are held by the BJP and 16 by the AINRC. 

Share this story