India negotiating air travel bubble with 13 more countries: Report

India negotiating air travel bubble with 13 more countries : Report - We The World Magazine
Image courtesy of Pascal Meier via Unsplash

India’s Civil aviation minister Hardeep Singh Puri said on Tuesday India is negotiating with 13 countries to establish air travel bubbles to initiate bilateral travel passages.

India banned all the international flights with the onset of the novel coronavirus back in March, and since then it has been suspended indefinitely.

However, in July, India established travel air bubbles with the US, France, UAE, and Germany enabling the nations to exchange passenger flights to and fro these countries from India, while mainstream operations remained suspended.

Now, as per the Civil Aviation Ministry announcement, India is furthering the conversation with 13 more nations, including Australia, Japan, Russia, South Korea, Thailand, and Singapore to establish bi-lateral travel air bubbles, News on AIR reported.

Mr. Puri also said separate air bubbles are also in talks with neighboring countries like Sri Lanka, Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Nepal, and Bhutan.

While international passenger flights have been stopped for months now, international repatriation and fright service flights were conducted.

As of international repatriation flights, so far 10 million Indians stranded in different parts of the world have been bought back home under the Vande Bharat Mission.